I play a kind of grown-up Mowgli in my next: Arya

aryaArya, who is a fitness freak, ensures that he doesn’t miss out on his workout schedule even if he is shooting in remote areas. Like he did it this time, while shooting for his next film being directed by Ragava. We’re told that the actor took his gym equipment in a separate vehicle to the forest – where he was shooting for the past one month (Arya’s back in Chennai for a brief period before he heads out to another forest again). After rigorous weight training and high intensity workouts, he has bulked up for the beefed-up look required for the role of a tribal that he is essaying in this film.

Arya workout 2Arya says, “I play a tribal, I am a kind of a grown-up Mowgli in this film. I had been shooting in the forest areas of Tamil Nadu and Kerala, and it has been a beautiful experience so far. I came back to the city for a break, and will be heading out again shortly.” Talking about his workout regimen, he says, “Even in the forest, I used to do my regular fitness routines, no excuses there. Working out against the backdrop of nature, I have discovered, is very refreshing. I used to wake up at 4am and till 6am I used to do high intensity workouts. After the shoot, in the evenings, I would take an uphill walk for an hour. Usually, only athletes do such intense exercises. But under the guidance of fitness trainers Rajesh and Jai, I have been following this schedule for the past seven months. Apart from the workout, diet also plays a key role. If you do severe workouts and not eat properly, it will eat up your muscles. I eat 40 egg whites and 2kg chicken a day. It is just plain lean meat without any spice. Diet is important when one is on a regular workout regimen.”

Arya workoutAbout shooting in the dense forests, he says, “I had to shoot without any footwear, as I am playing a tribal. There was not a single day that I didn’t get injured during the shoot. In fact, everybody in the team suffered from some minor injury or the other. Shifting from one place to another in the forest was also very challenging. Till now, for most of the films I’ve done, barring Naan Kadavul, for which I shot in Kashi, I have shot in comfortable places like coffee shops, malls, and other places within the city. But this schedule, of shooting in forests amidst snakes and wild animals, is really a different experience for me, and I am enjoying it.”